Food Pyramid and Its Parts

The food pyramid, food pyramid, or also called nutritional pyramid, is a graphic reference of the amount of the different food groups that we should consume daily to stay healthy.

In nutrition, the food pyramid is a reference to the proportion that our body needs to maintain a healthy and balanced diet. The daily intake of 55% carbohydrates, 30% fat and 15% protein, vitamins, minerals and fiber is recommended.

food pyramid

See also Nutrition.

The food pyramid is only a graphic reference, since the ideal amounts of consumption will depend on the age, weight, height, build and physical activity exercised by each individual.

The food pyramid and its parts

The food pyramid contains the proportions indicated for the 5 or 6 food groups that are divided into the following:

  1. Grain-based foods: They are the base of the pyramid and provide the necessary carbohydrates for daily energy for the proper functioning of the body. This group includes rice, dough, bread, corn, and tortillas. It is recommended to eat between 6 to 11 servings daily.
  2. Fruits and vegetables: They are found on the second level of the pyramid and provide the body with the necessary fiber, vitamins and minerals. It is recommended to consume 2 to 3 servings of fruits and 3 to 5 servings of vegetables per day.
  3. Milk and derivatives: are a source of vitamins, phosphorus and calcium necessary for the regeneration and strengthening of bones and muscles. It is recommended to consume between 2 to 3 servings daily.
  4. Meat, fish, eggs and legumes: contain essential amino acids to create our own proteins and strengthen our immune system. It is recommended to eat 2 servings daily.
  5. Fats, oils and sugars: they form the last level of the pyramid and it is recommended to eat 1 serving daily.
You may be interested:  Meaning of Phylogeny

vegan food pyramid

The vegan food pyramid is characterized by not having animal-derived food groups, therefore both the source of vitamins, phosphorus and calcium obtained from the dairy group, as well as proteins and amino acids from the meat group must be substituted. , fish and eggs. Some of the differences in the vegan food pyramid in relation to food groups are:

At the third level are the foods rich in calcium that would replace the group of dairy products and derivatives. It is recommended to consume between 5 and 8 servings, since it is complemented by the group of vegetables and fruits of the second level. Among the foods that provide calcium we have, for example:

  • dark green leafy vegetables like spinach and broccoli,
  • soymilk,
  • sesame,
  • dried figs etc.

In the fourth level, meats are replaced by derived from legumes or legumes that provide the necessary amount of protein and minerals for a healthy diet. The intake of 2 to 3 daily servings of foods such as chickpeas, peas, beans, tofu, peanuts, soybeans, nuts and seeds is recommended.

Finally, you must have a regular intake of essential oils. In a vegan diet it is important to take care of the intake of vitamin B12 and Omega-3 fatty acids. Vitamin B12 is found in yeast and vegetable concentrate. Omega-3, on the other hand, can be obtained through flax, canola and walnut oils.