Meaning of Colors of the Rainbow

What the Colors of the Rainbow Mean:

The colors of the rainbow there are seven: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violetpresenting three primary colors, two secondary and two tertiary.

A rainbow is a multicolored arc caused by an optical phenomenon which, through the refraction of sunlight on drops of water suspended in the air, forms a spectrum with different colors. For this reason, the rainbow usually appears after the rain.Rainbow colors

The rainbow effect can be observed whenever there are drops of water in the air, and especially when sunlight falls above the observer’s position.

See also: Primary and secondary colors.

The first to try to break down light was the French philosopher and physicist Rene Descartesobtaining only two colors: blue and red.

On the other hand, the physical Isaac NewtonUsing a pair of prisms, he concluded that white light could be broken down into seven main bands of colors (in analogy to the seven days of the week or the seven musical notes). In a rainbow, the water droplets act as prisms and this is the reason why this optical effect is created.

See also:

  • Prism
  • light refraction

in psychology, the colors influence the individual, since they cause a brain reaction according to the color in question. For example: there are colors that manage to reassure the individual, as is the case with pink.

For its part, the color red causes excitement and energy. In conclusion, each color produces effects on brain neurotransmitter substances.

You may be interested:  Meaning of Work in Physics

In English, the expression rainbow is translated as rainbow.

See also:

  • Rainbow
  • warm and cold colors

Meaning of the colors of the rainbow

The colors of the rainbow always appear in the same order and each one has its own meaning:

  • Red: symbolizes passion, love and life; it can also convey feelings of aggressiveness.
  • Orange: It is a color that helps transmit positive energy, so it means prosperity, vitality, enthusiasm and joy.
  • Yellow: expresses joy, happiness, fortune; It is a color that awakens inspiration and creativity.
  • Green: it is a color that manifests hope, peace, balance, health, vitality and confidence; on the other hand, it symbolizes nature, growth, renewal and fullness.
  • Blue: represents tranquility, calm, harmony and spiritual peace; likewise, it is a color that is associated with monotony and depression.
  • Indigo: it is a color that communicates sincerity, respect, individuality; Also, it symbolizes fantasies and dreams.
  • Violet: it is a color linked to the spiritual and magical world, it purifies the body and mind; It is also a color that connects with peace and the search for inner balance.

rainbow according to the bible

In the Bible, the rainbow is also called the “arc of the covenant” or the “arc of God.” In Genesis9: 8-15, it is said that, after the flood, God, Noah and all the surviving beings of the ark formed an alliance thanks to which there would be no more floods on Earth, and that the rainbow that would appear in the sky would be the symbol that God would use to remind them of that alliance.

You may be interested:  Meaning of Critical Pedagogy

God says: “This is the sign of the alliance that I establish between you and me, and with every living thing that is with you, for perpetual generations: I put my bow in the clouds, which will serve as a sign of the alliance between the earth and I. When I make the earth cloudy, the bow will appear in the clouds, and I will remember the covenant between me and you, and with all living things, with all flesh, and the waters will no longer be a flood that destroys all flesh. “(Genesis9: 12-15).

rainbow flag

The rainbow flag, also known as the LGBT flag, has been the representation of the gay and lesbian community since the late 1970s. The flag was designed by Gilbert Baker and popularized in 1978. At first it was presented with eight stripes, but it underwent modifications until we reach the one we know today: a flag with six stripes of red, orange, yellow, green, blue and violet, each with its own meaning.

Taking into account the above, red means life, orange is healing, yellow symbolizes the sun, green represents nature, blue is harmony, and finally, violet characterizes the spirit.

See also LGBT.