Meaning of Primates

What are Primates:

primates are mammals that share common ancestors. The word primates derives from the Latin meaning “first”.

Primates make up the taxonomic order to which the hominid family belongs, where the human species is found Homo sapiens.

Within the order of primates we can find the following groups of animals:

lemur primate

lemurs: most of them live today in Madagascar, such as this lemur cattaalso known as the ring-tailed lemur.

lordis primates

the lorisids: As the loris tardigradusknown as the red slender lordis, measures 22 centimeters and weighs 240 grams.

tarsius primates

the tarsiers: As the tarsius tarsieralso known as the ghost tarsier because of its large eyes.

primates monkeys new world

The monkeys: such as the Saguinus imperatora new world monkey.

primates apes

the apes: As the gorilla gorilla gorilla. It is from the Hominidae family, the same as the human species and can weigh up to 180 kilos.

human primates

Y the humans: also known as the species Homo sapiens.

The greatest differences between the species of the primate order are related to behavior, which is reflected in the way they organize themselves socially.

Primate Characteristics

Primates are characterized by sharing common ancestors that make them morphologically similar. Among the various aspects they share, the following stand out:

  • Five fingers,
  • common tooth pattern,
  • flat nails,
  • binocular vision,
  • development of the cerebral hemispheres,
  • Mobility and articulation of the fingers, especially the thumb.

types of primates

The order of primates is classified into 2 large groups: the higher and lower primates:

You may be interested:  Reflection

The lower primates or prosimians (suborder Strepsirrhini) belong, for example, the lemurs, the lorisids and the tarsiers that are characterized by having a tail.

higher primates or apes (infraorder Simiformes) are subdivided into the lower apes and higher apes (including hominoids):

  1. The lesser apes or monkeys of the new world (parvorden Platyrrhini): they have a tail and are among these, for example, marmosets.
  2. The higher apes or monkeys of the old world (parvorden Catarrhini) and hominoids: they have no tail and are divided into:
  • Cercopithecidae (or Old World): baboons, macaques and colobus belong to it,
  • Hominoidea: within this superfamily is the Homininae or Hominidae family, which includes the Ponginae, from which the orangutans belong, and the Hominae, where they are found: the human species (Homo sapiens), bonobos (Paniscus bread), gorillas (Gorilla sp.) and chimpanzees (pan troglodytes).