Meaning of Richter Scale

What is Richter Scale:

The Richter scale is a seismological scale that quantifies the energy released in an earthquake.

The Richter scale was defined in 1935 by Charles Francis Richter (1900-1985) and is used to determine the intensity of earthquakes and diagnose their effects on the population in order to activate rescue and emergency aid mechanisms.

See also earthquake.

The Richter scale interpolates the values ​​of the seismic wave amplitude of the affected cities and localities to locate the epicenter. The Richter scale uses Arabic numerals to quantify the magnitude of earthquakes.

The Richter scale quantifies the effects and damages according to the following scale:

  • Less than 3.5 degrees: not noticeable
  • Between 3.5 to 5.4 degrees: causes minor damage
  • Between 5.5 to 6.0 degrees: minor visible damage to buildings
  • Between 6.1 to 6.9 degrees: severe damage especially in the most populated areas
  • Between 7.0 to 7.9 degrees: it is considered a major earthquake with serious damage
  • Greater than 8 degrees: great earthquake that considers the town in a state of emergency

The Richter and Mercalli scale

The Richter scale and the Mercalli scale are the quantification of the levels of severity that an earthquake causes.

The Mercalli scale differs from the Richter scale, since it is based on the effects or physical damage that an earthquake causes in the structures together with the sensations perceived by the population. It is measured in degrees using Roman numerals, being grade I, the mildest, up to grade XII, the most severe.

You may be interested:  Meaning of Psychoanalysis