Meaning of Suffrage

What is Suffrage:

The term suffrage originates from the Latin word suffragĭumand refers to right to participate through voting, constitutionally and politically, in a electoral system where they are chosen among the candidates to hold positions in public or private entities in politics.

This term also refers to vote yes or to the option taken by each one of the people who are consulted, especially in political matters, in an assembly to make a vote.

Throughout history, there have been numerous groups, such as slaves, prisoners, the disabled both physically and intellectually (psychically), women, the illiterate, the military, the police, the poor, etc., who have been excluded from right to vote for many reasons. Currently all adult citizens, that is, those of legal age and with full faculties can exercise their vote in politics in most countries. Women voted for the first time in the 20th century.

The first country in the world to grant its citizens the right to vote was New Zealand in 1893. Finland was the first nation in the world to give all citizens full suffrage.

The term suffrage is also used to help, help or be in favor of something or someoneGoing in someone’s suffrage is helping both financially and physically. Even for Catholics, suffrage is the work offered by believers for the souls in purgatory.

You may be interested:  Meaning of Independence

Characteristics of the suffrage

Votes must meet the following characteristics:

  • universal
  • free
  • secret
  • straight
  • staff
  • untransferable
  • egalitarian

types of suffrage

In politics, the vote could be of the type active, which is the right or freedom that individuals have to participate in the election of the rulers of a country or the approval or rejection in a referendum with their votes; and of type passivewhich is the right or freedom that individuals have to present themselves as candidates during the electoral process and to be elected.

Suffrage is also divided into: universal suffrage and restricted or census suffrage.

Universal suffrage

The universal suffrage is the electoral system in which they have the right to vote all persons or adult citizens (of legal age, 18 years in most countries) of a country or State, or of a region, regardless of their sex, race, belief, position or social condition .

Foreign residents can vote in local elections in some countries.

Restricted or census suffrage

The restricted suffrage, also called a census holder, is one that Only people who appear on a list can vote or in a censususually based on your wealth, your level of taxation, or your real estate.

qualified suffrage

Qualified suffrage was one where only men who knew how to read and write could exercise it. This type of suffrage no longer exists since the implementation of universal suffrage as one of the fundamental characteristics of all democracy.

Effective suffrage, No reelection

“Effective suffrage, not reelection” is the phrase that Francisco I. Madero used as a slogan and cry against the Mexican dictator Porfirio Díaz who had been in power for 35 years thanks to the legality of reelection.

You may be interested:  Meaning of Panama Papers

Francisco I. Madero began the Mexican Revolution on November 20, 1910 with the motto “Effective suffrage, no re-election”, defeating the military forces of Porfirio Díaz and achieving his exile the following year.

Francisco I. Madero assumes power but is assassinated by Victoriano Huerta in 1913. Victoriano Huerta remains in power until 1914. Venustiano Carranza is the new leader of the Revolution, assuming the position of President of the Republic in 1917 and then being assassinated 3 years later.

The struggles and power wars continued until 1934, when Lázaro Cárdenas assumed the position of President of the Republic, consolidating the bases of the National Revolutionary Party together with the implementation of the Agrarian Reform and the oil expropriation.

Currently, this historical slogan of non-reelection is on the table for discussion since it is approved in 2015 in Mexico those deputies and senators elected since 2018 may be re-elected.

Senators may be reelected for two consecutive terms and deputies for up to four consecutive terms.

It is disputed whether the Mexican Revolution continues to this day.