The 7 Deadly Sins

Which are the 7 capital sins?

The seven deadly sins correspond to the classification of the vices or desires of man according to the moral teachings of Christianity. the deadly sins they are lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, anger, envy Y pride.

These sins receive the adjective “capital” because they constitute the source, principle or “head” of other sins.

This means that the compulsion for capital sins tempts people to satisfy their desire at all costs, which means committing other sins to achieve it.

In this sense, whoever is moved by capital sins dehumanizes himself and others by reducing them to mere obstacles to his desire or instruments of his will.

capitals sins

Bosch: deadly sins table. 1505-1510. Oil on poplar wood panel. 119.5 x 139.5m.

The capital sins are not described and ordered in a list in the Bible, however, they are referred to throughout the Holy Book.

In the sixth century, the Roman Pope Gregory the Great first drew up the list of deadly sins. Later, Saint Thomas Aquinas ordered them and listed the sins in seven.

The deadly sins are opposed seven virtues: chastity, temperance, generosity, industry, patience, charity Y modesty.

Various artists have been inspired by the seven deadly sins to create works of great importance. Among the most famous Dante Alighieri stands out with his poetic work The Divine Comedy and the pictorial piece by Jheronimus Bosch called The table of deadly sins.

1. Lust


Lust is the sin of indulging in thoughts that are considered impure because of their excessive sexual compulsion. It is the disordered search to satisfy unlimited sexual pleasure, which can generate and degenerate into dehumanizing attitudes and processes.

You may be interested:  Meaning of Ascension

2. Gluttony


Gluttony is the excessive consumption of food and drinks, gluttony taken to its maximum expression. It is the vice of eating irrationally, voraciously, which leads to paying serious physical and social consequences. The same happens with drinks, whose excess makes the person get drunk and lose his mind.

3. Greed


Greed or covetousness is a sin of excess just like lust and gluttony, but excess manifests itself in the thoughtless desire to possess material goods and wealth. Misers want to have large amounts of objects or money that they overvalue. They do not care about the means by which they can obtain them.

4. Sloth


Laziness is the inability to take charge of one’s own existence and the spiritual obligations of the faith one practices. Through laziness or acidia, people forget about self-care and also neglect the love that is due to God. laziness, therefore, generates sadness, reluctance and isolation.

5. Anger


Anger is an uncontrolled and excessive feeling of rage or anger, which drives to commit acts of physical violence against others or against oneself. Anger is related to impotence in the face of reality and impatience, and arouses attitudes such as discrimination and execution outside the law.

6. Envy


Envy corresponds to the feeling of regret at the good or success of third parties. In this sense, envy is not simply the desire to have what the other has, but the desire that the other has no good. Therefore, envy is a vice that leads to wish others evil.

You may be interested:  Holy Spirit

7. Pride


Pride is the uncontrolled appreciation of our own value, attractiveness and importance to others. It is considered one of the most serious sins. Proud people are characterized by considering themselves superior to those around them. Narcissism or vanity is a way of being arrogant.

See also:

  • cardinal virtues.
  • theological virtues.