Venezuela’s Flag

What is its meaning and what its elements represent (colors, stars and shield)

The flag of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela is the national insignia of Venezuela. Along with the national anthem and the shield, it is one of the official patriotic symbols of this country. The flag is the most representative symbol internationally.

Venezuelan flag

The Venezuelan flag is made up of three horizontal stripes of the same size and different colors. From top to bottom: yellow, blue and red. In the center of the blue stripe, there are eight five-pointed stars in the shape of a semi-arc. In the upper left corner, in the yellow stripe, the country’s coat of arms is located on the flag for official use (not for civil use). The flag has a width to length ratio of 2 to 3.

The Venezuelan flag It is inspired by the one adopted by the Congress of the Republic in 1811 as the national flag and symbol of independence.

was brought by Francisco de Miranda and hoisted on Venezuelan soil for the first time on the day August 3, 1806. Since 2006, August 3 is celebrated as Flag Day. Previously, it celebrated on March 12, which was the day it was hoisted for the first time on the English brig Leander, where Mirada was traveling on a military expedition to make Venezuela independent.

You may be interested:  What is Microeconomics

From the original brought by Miranda to the current flag, the Venezuelan flag has undergone multiple alterations in its appearance. The current model we are referring to has existed since 2006, when the eighth star was added and modifications were made to the national shield.

Meaning of the colors of the Venezuelan flag

The colors of the Venezuelan flag have tended to be interpreted as follows.

The yellow as a symbol of the wealth of the nation, of the tropical sun, of sovereignty, of harmony and of justice.

The blue symbolizes the seas, rivers and lakes of the country, as well as the sky.

The red It is the symbol of the blood spilled by the heroes of the country to conquer freedom. It is also interpreted as love, power, homeland, strength and progress.

Meaning of the stars of the Venezuelan flag

Each of the eight stars symbolize the eight provinces that made up the Venezuelan territory that would become independent from Spainnamely: Caracas, Cumaná, Barcelona, ​​Barinas, Margarita, Mérida, Guayana and Trujillo.

Previously, there were only seven stars, because initially, the Act of the Declaration of the Independence of Venezuela, dated July 5, 1811, had been signed by only seven of the provinces, to which the province would later be incorporated. of Guyana, this being the eighth star of the flag.

the eighth star

The eighth star of the Venezuelan flag corresponds to the province of Guyana, which would only later join the other independent provinces. It is based on a decree of November 20, 1817, and reflects an express desire of Simón Bolívar himself to include his star on the flag. As of March 9, 2006, the eighth star was added to the flag.

You may be interested:  6 Examples of Social Justice That Will Make You Smile