Modern Philosophy

What is Modern Philosophy

Modern philosophy is defined as the intention of reach the same terms of intellectual involvement to solve problems that arise from the scientific revolution and covers great thinkers from the Renaissance period from the 14th century to around the year 1800.

Modern philosophy was born as a break from the thought established in the Middle Ages with the appearance of the humanists and the Renaissance movements.

The thinkers and philosophers of modern philosophy are divided into 4 groups:

  • rationalism: Its heyday spans from 1640 to 1700. Its greatest exponent and also considered the father of modern philosophy was René Descartes (1596-1650) whose most famous phrase is “I think, therefore I am”. Other exponents of rationalism are the German Gottfried Leibniz (1646-1716) and the Dutch Baruch Spinoza (1632-1677).
  • empiricism: the rise of empiricism is between the years 1690 and 1780. The doctrine was developed theoretically by John Locke (1632-1704) who states that knowledge can only be achieved empirically, that is, through experience. Other authors of this current are the Englishman Francis Bacon (1561-1626), the Irishman George Berkeley (1685-1753), the Englishman David Hume (1711-1776) and the Scottish Adam Smith (1723-1790).
  • transcendental idealism: It takes place between the years 1780 and 1800 and its greatest exponent is Immanuel Kant (1724-1804) who combines rationalism and empiricism.
  • Other authors Not identified in the above categories are the Frenchman Blaise Pascal (1623-1662), the Italian Giambattista Vico (1668-1744), and the Swiss Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778).

See also:

  • contemporary philosophy
  • Philosophy
  • “I think, therefore I am”
  • Empiricism
  • Vitalism
  • Renaissance
You may be interested:  Meaning of Agnosticism